Heart and Souled

By DebsP

"Spot the birdie"

Today is Wednesday. Our shops shut here on Wednesdays and yes I always forget. Half way through some endeavour and it'll inevitably be thwarted for the lack of some key component I can't then pop out and buy. I do respect these small business' right to some spare time nontheless.
This is the window of J's shoe shop. It's tiny inside with all the boxes piled to the ceiling - there is no back room. It's all heated by one paraffin stove and she cleverly uses a pole to flick down the top stock (I try not to flinch). On the wall are the 'Spotlight' photos of many a 'celeb' she's shod, but I think they're from before my time.
The awning is reflected in the glass window and the cellophane blind that keeps the sun off the shoes. Like that was needed today. The chimneys opposite are from the Masonic Hall - built it proudly tells us in 1894. When I got in front of the computer I was delighted to see I'd snapped a rather big bird in there too.

You might need to look larger if you actually do want to spot the birdie! :-)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.