Eighty four

Most times when I go to villages and meetings, I am the oldest person there. But not today. There were four chiefs with a combined age of 304 but he was the oldest at 84.
The meeting was a major occasion where a group of women and two men took control of 23 acres of land as a commercial co-operative farm. W4Z bought the land in trust and repayment will be over the next five years. Land ownership is rare enough in Malawi, but women owning it is wonderful.
We were also most pleased to have two people from the Agriculture Ministry. They were very impressive and most willing to lend their support.
My feeling is that they may well give us a heifer and some pigs. I threatened that the nine chiefs would come knocking on their doors!!
As I always say, it won't be easy, but its an amazing project to be involved in.
Wonderful day to be alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.