What Captures My Interest

By Erikalv

Walter

This is Walter....a very dear friend of mine and my ex-boyfriend as well. I met him about 10 months after my separation on an online dating site. We clicked from the first email, the first conversation, our first date and our first kiss. It was magic.

Walter is the first man that I ever fell in love with. He has a wonderful personality....very warm, tender, soft-spoken, well mannered, funny and super cool. He became family.....my kids instantly liked him and that was very important to me, even my ex-husband liked him. He definitely brought something to the table.....a different perspective and outlook. I loved the way he use to hang out with my boys and participate in the free style rap and the bond he had with Tessa was sweet....he nicknamed her "T Dawg". The day before my mother passed away, Walter and I was visiting with her at the hospital. They were always very sweet with each other and my mother loved him for having a sweet soul but more because she saw how happy he made me. That day she didn't want to let him go when he hugged her good-bye.

On a personal note, Walter gave me a gift. He showed me how a woman is suppose to be treated by a man. He also allowed me to be me which in turn I learned that I was capable to be a warm loving partner. We never fought but had heavy conversations, we never cussed or disrespected one another.....all this was new to me but a long fetched dream that finally came true.

We lasted for two years.....2 wonderful years of love, laughter and mutual admiration. People come into your life for different reasons and Walter came into mine to show me what a loving relationship should be like. I learned so much from him and that will stay with me forever.

Its almost two years since the break up and we have remained close friends. We catch up every once in while and share notes about our dating life. I know he was the real thing because he is the same person today that he was when I first met him. I don't regret that it didn't work out because I know it wasn't meant to be....I'm just happy that he is still in my life looking out for me (from a distance).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.