Mothers' Day

Today is Mothers' Day in the U.S. and I enjoyed a very special day. I told my girls, the two who live in Ohio, that I wanted them to have a relaxing day that was fun for them. I didn't want them to feel they must spend the entire day with me or buy me a gift just because someone decided that it is "Mothers' Day." I would rather they wrote me a letter or a poem and did something special for themselves. After all, they are mothers too, and I'm very proud of all of them...and their children too (Although the grandchildren aren't exactly children any longer).

After brunch at a delicatessen with one daughter and her family, we took a little ride to Chagrin Falls where we had ice cream cones with the other daughter and her family. Delicious blueberry and cherry blintzes for brunch and two scoops of creamy dark chocolate ice cream in a waffle cone for dessert, followed by a lovely drive home through the countryside. I won't need to eat for at least two days...three maybe? So that's how the day turned out. I hope all mothers who were celebrating and being celebrated enjoyed their day as much as I've enjoyed mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.