Yet More Pensioner Tales

I knew I was late and right enough my plans to sneak out unnoticed were gone. And worse, there was bloody cheroot lounging about and holding forth near the old slip. Nothing for it but to walk past. I nodded over.
"You'll be fucking lucky" he said, never one to spare the expletives. I paused and raised an eyebrow, "what's up?"
"What's up? Just some cunt's put a rope round the fucking prop, that's what's up" and he motioned towards the tender moored at the foot of the quay.
I gave a snort, and shook my head, "too many novices."
He looked at me steadily trying to make out if I was taking the piss. He'd have said too many fucking novices of course. And I was the prime example in his eyes, no doubt about that at all. His mate looked at him and then studied me.
I looked away at the boat moored alongside the barge. "Must be getting on, gents" and I stepped quickly away. Behind me, I heard him clearing his throat and spitting noisily on the ground. I raised my hand as a goodbye and walked on without looking back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.