One Crowded Hour

By GlassRoad

big day out

I took my mum out for a belated Mother's Day lunch at the Uni Club restaurant which she just loves and I happen to be a member of by good luck and happenstance.

She is a very classy 80 something year old and has lived an amazing life, experiencing a bag full of amazing things. Always elegantly turned out, whether pottering in the garden or the only female guest at a geisha function, I sloughed off the standard jeans and Blunnies and we headed into the city.
The Club restaurant suits her very well with starched white tablecloths, silverware and simple china, decent bubbly by the glass and waiters who don't do the crouching by the table thing interspersing touchy feely chat with the 'specials'.

As I write this I realise I should have taken a photo of her! (for another time.) However this is the pud we shared, a pineapple brulee with mandarin sorbet and a sesame brittle, after munching through chargrilled Rottnest prawns followed by tea smoked duck with fig, orange and endive salad.

Just yum posh nosh and a delightful few hours .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.