TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Red-Tailed Hawk~

~Perched On A Saguaro Arm~

This beautiful raptor came to rest in my yard this morning.
Not 30 feet away from me, me without my camera!!!
I called for Rio, my dog, to get in the house, he is a birddog.
I went in with him, to grab my camera, and throw on the telephoto.
I had every expectation that the Buteos would not be there.
To my great surprise, there he was, right where I left him.
To my greater surprise he let me approach him, within 20 feet.
Clicking away to my hearts content, but I stopped my approach.
I wanted to get as many photographs as I could without spooking him.
He was very cool about it, I got about 15 images before he took wing.
I was fortunate to have gotten that close, hawks are very cautious.
My recent bird encounters have been very favored and blessed.
I think they are sensing no harm in my camera and my advances.
But of course they do have their comfort zone, which I am learning.

Thanks for visiting my backyard, come back soon, ok?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.