MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Train to Minas

Finally got on the train to Belo Horizonte! It's a cute little train. My only complaint (for now :P) is that it leaves "Vitoria" at 7am. I tried to take a bus by waking up at 4:30am, but by 5:30, there was still a HEAVY, heavy rain coming down and I grabbed a taxi instead, paying R$40 to get across town to Caricica. The streets were all flooded- up to the car doors! - which made me feel better about the water leaking in through my fan and some cracks in my ceiling (I decided to turn the fan off...) It was so much rain, and I hear it's STILL raining.

The train is about 13-14 hours total, which is a bit long, but I was able to buy the protein-rich marmotex for lunch which held me over until salgados in the BH rodoviaria (waiting for the bus to Ouro Preto). I chatted with the loveliest older woman who sat next to me and an energetic 10 year old girl in front of us. Even though I'm slightly more comfortable around the elderly than children, I enjoy the multitude of educational opportunities that exist when you're talking to kids. The good ones are like perfect sponges.

When she asked where I lived, but didn't know where Vitoria was, I was able to show her on the map. And when I told her I was a civil engineer, she asked for more explanation. So I told her we design buildings and roads, and I really like math. She told me "I like math too. It's easier than Portuguese." I told her I also have problems with Portuguese (she laughed) but that it's very important to read too- but there's lots of cool things you can do with math! I like to think she'll become an engineer now. :)

I'm in Ouro Preto for a few days- exploring this quaint city and networking for that future Fulbright! There are so many amazing opportunities in this country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.