Ominous

All day the weather has built and skirted around us here in the city. This is what I saw as I looked up Riccarton Rd from Hagley Park, the tail edge of a cold front that passed inland from us.

5 minutes from home a Hilux ute, dirty and with dog boxes on the back passed me. "Ha, another hunter" I thought. Simultaneously I registered it was the hunter (not a hunter).

He told me he'd spotted a cyclist "lit up like a shop front" a couple of kms down the road (he's prone to exaggeration ;-). He wondered if it was me and once closer "I recognised your bum!".

A love surprise. My freezer is full of the fruits of his labours and I agreed to sharing fish and chips with him. Not my usual but there you go.

I'll reappear in a day or so. I have visitors coming for dinner Wednesday night and I won't get near my computer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.