The second half of life..

By twigs

More of the same but a little bit different

The sunrise didn't eventuate - almost 8-8 cloud cover when I checked at 4.15am and even a bit of drizzle.  More sleep.

The cloudiness continued but it was still a gorgeous setting.  Off then to the 'real' East Cape and lighthouse number 3 for this holiday.  The lighthouse was about 7kms further along a gravel road that had some very hairy road slips along the way.  I guess it just shows how mobile land round here is - or maybe, how temporary.  Anyway, if I thought 254 steps to get up to the Cape Palliser lighthouse was a challenge it turned out to be just the warm-up!  700 steps up to this baby and - Murphy's Law - the sun was out and blazing by the time I started the ascent.  Well worth the effort though - magnificent views from the top looking back along the coast I have travelled these past few days and, in the other direction, the coastline back to the campground.  The story of the lighthouse is very similar to the others - used to be manned now all automated by a computer in Wellington.

I took my time on the drive back to Te Araroa - lots of stops to explore various bits of beach and coast then, in Te Araroa, almost as though they'd read my blip from yesterday, these 3 rode past though I don't think they were heading to the playground.  Just a Sunday afternoon ride out with mates.  Look closely and you'll notice the front riders aren't using stirrups and their 'reins' are a length of light rope.

Staying tonight at a wee campground near Waihau Bay.  It felt great to have a shower and wash my hair though the showers were a little odd........the cold and hot seemed to have been reversed which took me some time to figure out then, whenever anyone else came into the ablution block and turnd on any water, the supply in my shower stopped altogether! All is good now though - clean and fresh and ready for the next leg of my little journey tomorrow.

Bed now.

G'night
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.