wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

5am on the last day of 2014

As it draws to a close I am once again reminded that I am fortunate and truly blessed in many ways.
This is the pond at Deering Oaks Park in Portland. In the winter there are big balls of lights hung in these trees. Everyday they change colors. Wednesday morning is my favorite. Blue, green and purple spheres of lights great me on the way to work every Wednesday morning. I love the reflection on the icy pond.
This morning it was cold. Full length down coat cold. I am grateful for all the little geese that gave up their feathers for me. I have been chased by a goose before and snapped at by it. It was scary and makes the wearing of it a bit less guilt filled.
I am amazed at how fast this year flew. Times flies by me so fast.
Last night was an incredible night. What a fabulous way to end out the year. I am so thankful to be part of our band. More importantly I am so honored to be friends with these people. Ingrid, Shelly and Dan, they make it easy to perform and we have a great time.
I looked at Ingrid as we started "Vincent Black Lightening 1952" and I was reminded of how many times in the past 4 years we have performed this song. Each time was it's own memory, I choked up. All of the songs we sing mean something. All tug at my heart in different ways.
It has occurred to me that we are in control of which memories we choose to keep. i am choosing all the good ones from this year. I will remember the harder ones, I will just try to put them in perspective..
Tonight I am going downstairs and make n omelet for my dad to see the old year out. I will not be seeing the new year in. It will be greeted at 4am when I get up to go to work.
Yes people, lives still need to be saved............even on a holiday!
(Realize that I don't actually save lives, I just make it possible to get paid when the miracles happen. ) I think tomorrow is a red boot day! Sydney that is for you!!!
So to all my friends all over the world, kiss 2014 goodbye. Open your eyes and embrace 2015. It will bring laughter tears, love, dispointment, excitement, fear, resolution ........and everything else that life drops at our door. I can't wait.
Back straight deep breath.
,
Bring it babe

As always:
Good morning Downunder. I know 2015 May not be a reality,, but I refuse to drop the dream. Enjoy this lovely season. Take good care until I get there.
To the north, stay warm this next month is going to be cold. May the joy and love of friends and family keep you warm.
Till tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.