WHOSE LEGS?

It was so miserable this morning that after I had had a shower, I got back into bed with my book, but Mr. HCB thought we should go out, so I decided I’d better get dressed - I don’t think even Boscombe is ready to see me out in just my PJs!

On a wild, wet and windy day what else can you do but go to one of your favourite cafés and have lunch.  We have become friends with Andrew and his wife, Karen, who own Little Pickle Deli Café in Boscombe, so were disappointed when we arrived to see they weren’t there - but Andrew appeared a little while later.  In the meantime, we had a lovely conversation with a couple at the next table - because it’s that sort of place!

Amy made us a wonderful lunch and I had taken a photograph of our Dorset Blue Vinney sandwich and the enormous pork and sage sausage roll - oh and the salad (which was the healthy bit) intending to use that as my Blip for today but couldn’t resist taking a photograph of Andrew’s legs - so decided to use that one instead - much more fun!  

I don’t think I have ever seen Andrew wearing long trousers and you can see that these legs have had quite a battering in one way or another - but as I have been reminded in the last few days “Your journal is your take on life” and these were part of my life today.  However, you will be pleased to know the legs didn’t put us off our food!

Karen rang as we were leaving and invited us to call in at their house, which is just round the corner, on the way home.  Lyra had made a wonderful display of all her “Frozen” presents under a specially written sign “Christmas Stuff” and we then ended up watching “Tangled” a lovely Disney film - not sure Mr. HCB was that enamoured, but sometimes you just have to “go with the flow”, and of course, we had a running commentary from the girls, so at least we knew what was coming next.

Isn’t it great to have friends you can just drop in on - although we hadn’t seen this lovely family since October, we chatted as if we had only spoken yesterday - and they made us so welcome - so thanks, Andrew, Karen, Lyra and Mabel - you are the best!

In the sweetness of friendship
let there be laughter,
and sharing of pleasures.
For in the dew of little things
the heart finds its morning
and is refreshed.

Khalil Gibran

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.