QUIET

I daresay those who know me well will find it difficult to believe that I can be quiet - and for most of my day, I must admit, I am not that quiet - but when I sit and have my "Quiet" time with God, then I do listen to what He is saying.

My Bible is well used and I keep all manner of things within the pages - bookmarks, reminders to pray for certain friends, notes of sermons and things I want to remember and also notes that friends have written to me. After my Quiet time today, I was looking through my Bible and came across this note, given to me by a friend on 18th March 2001 - almost 13 years ago. The Kansas bookmark was sent to me recently by a friend in America, who is a great encourager to me.

Since I retired, I have found that I am able to be more of an encourager to those around me, mainly because I have more time and only yesterday, when I was out having a coffee, I got chatting to a lady, who was, of course, a stranger, and we had a lovely hour together. We exchanged email addresses, and then later, I heard from her that she had been feeling rather "heavy" in the last few days, and our chat was just what she needed to bring her out of herself.

I am a firm believer that God brings people into our lives for a reason or a season - and then it is up to us to do what we can in that time, however long or short it may be.

So at the start of this New Year, perhaps we should all look around for someone to encourage - because I know only too well, that whilst encouraging others, I am also encouraged and uplifted.

The one who blesses others is abundantly blessed;
those who help others are helped.
Proverbs 11:25 - The Message


Thank you to everyone who helped to put my 365th Blip into the Spotlight - you are a wonderful community of people! If you want to see how I did it, then have a look here. Photographs courtesy of Mr. HCB, my encourager!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.