Where's Noah when you need him?

If you sometimes read my blips in 2014 you may remember one  3 months ago when the road near to our house was closed for the best part of two weeks while quite a few workers tried to fix the flooding that occurs nearly every time that we get a substantial (or even not so substantial sometimes) amount of rain.
Well, sadly all their work was in vain. This is the road early this afternoon, and as you can see, there is so much water coming along the drains that it has lifted the man-hole cover up completely, and it's now a serious trip hazard, especially in the dark (there are not many street lights around here).
The top of this road is quite deep in water well before it reaches this point. Let's hope it doesn't freeze tonight.
2nd October 2014

Christmas deccies are all down and stowed away for another year. We even packed them in new boxes this year, as the old ones were falling apart after years of use, albeit only moving twice a year - once in, and once out.

No sign as yet of our parcel to Taiwan that went awol. I'm still keeping my fingers crossed. Apart from disappearing entirely, as has happened in the past, the longest time that one has gone off track for to date was 3 or 4 months. At least some of the things for the eldest may be ok for the youngest by next year.

When we first looked out of the window this morning, and saw what a miserable day it was, I remarked to C "Just the sort of day for sitting in jammies and a dressing gown in front of the fire, and having a servant to replenish the logs and bring me food and drink when I need it." His reply? "Just like every weekend then for you."
Oh, how we laughed!
Actually we did - hysterically. Apart from when I've not long been out of hospital, I've never sat in my jammies or dressing gown in my life. And no, I should NOT start. I have enough bad habits already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.