CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

It's a big hole, but they're looking into it.

We have major disruption in our area at the moment, due to roadworks being carried out on the main route running through the village. I believe that the work is being undertaken in order to stop the flooding which happens every time we have a serious downpour, so that will be a help.

What isn’t helpful is that all the roads within about a mile radius have signs reading “Road Closed” with no indication as to which road and in which direction. Where this picture is taken is a junction, and drivers approaching it could turn left in the direction of the nearest town, or right, in the opposite direction. Turning right is totally road-work free, but turning left the road is blocked, however the signs would have you believe that all the roads are blocked, which is causing huge grumpiness amongst frustrated drivers.

The detour is quite significant. For example, if I wanted to walk to see Technophobe, and got a wriggle on, I could get there in about 1 to 2 minutes. To drive there at the moment, I would need to make a detour of about 5 to 6 miles.

As I write, the postman has just called to deliver some parcels, and he apologised for being about 2 hours later than normal. The reason? He couldn’t get from one end of the village to the other.

A delivery man telephoned me at 8:30 to see how he could get to my house this morning as he was "the other side" of the barriers. I explained where we were, and I heard him say to the workmen "Please can you let me through, I have urgent medical supplies?" He rang our doorbell about 2 minutes later so they'd obviously let him pass. The parcel? Bits for my bike.

Good news? There is a strong rumour that our local pub has been bought and will re-open in November. We all have bated breath at the moment – can you see it from there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.