Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Lunch is served...

I decided to head out to Clearwater to Sand Key Park late this morning, leaving hubs to work the phones in pursuit of his next job.  I spent an hour or so watching and photographing a nice variety of birds.  Before leaving the park, I thought I'd take a walk along the beach.  Just as I was finishing up the walk, I noticed some pelicans diving into the water several hundred feet off shot - so I sat to watch.

In a matter of moments, I started seeing fins breaking the water - lots of fins!  And before you could say "bottle-nosed dolphins", there were probably a dozen of them busy fishing in a large school of fish.  Almost before I could lift the camera, 5 small boats showed up with net-fishermen and before you know it, everyone was catching fish.  It wasn't a very good day for the fish - but for the birds, dolphins and fishermen, it was a banner day.

This photo is heavily cropped and also lightened and brightened and it's not a technically very good photo ... but you can very clearly see the fish in the dolphin's mouth and that's more than enough to qualify as one of Life's Little Moments for me.  

I posted 7 other shots from today, starting HERE with a close up of a Great Egret changing into breeding colors.  The second two photos are of this dolphin finishing his catch.  

Each day the pain of losing Rocket seems to get a little less although when I look at a photo of him, I want to burst into tears.  I don't know if I mentioned it but we decided to have him cremated and we will eventually take his ashes up to NJ and bury him next to our collie, Carrie's ashes in our front yard.  It seems fitting.  

Phoebe is continuing to be the recipient of loads of extra love and attention - however, tomorrow we are going to upset her apple cart by taking her to the vet.  Nothing wrong, just want to get her up to date on vaccines and maybe do a blood panel.  

I hope your week is off to a good start...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.