MallyC

By MallyC

Whimsey

Usual Thursday routine - Mother to hair appointment whilst I spend the hour gathering wages and groceries before picking Mother up and checking out a good coffee.  Today we went to a cafe near where we lived for many years in the Dunedin suburb of Roslyn.  The Rhubarb Cafe is in the building where once there was a butchery.  They have kept the original tiles on the walls and most of the floor boards are original as is the wrought iron gates which protect the modern glass doors at the entrance of the business.  They do a good eccles cake there, which Mother loves, and I sampled their cheesy scones which definitely passed muster!!  Very cheesy and a lovely spring onion and cracked pepper flavour too.

Home...  and I realised that I had not taken my camera out once so had to find something from our jungle.  There are a lot of grasses taking over the old vegetable plot and flower beds and I find them quite interesting but difficult to photograph.  Today I used a white envelop resting under the grass head - looking to portrait the construction of the grass head - giving some isolation from the melee of other grass heads and weeds jostling for attention.  I like the effect but definitely need to practice more.

Finally caught up with all my back blipping last night so am up to date now and will have a crack at staying that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.