The second half of life..

By twigs

Raglan

When it comes to Surfing, Raglan is to New Zealand what California is to America or what Surfers Paradise is to Australia.  That is, with the exception of the size of the town.  It's the first time I've been to Raglan and, despite first impressions, I rather liked it.  I think my first impressions were tainted by the slighlty overcast weather and the vastly overcrowded campground but once out of the campground and up on the clifftop overlooking the beach, the impression began to change for the better (as did the weather).

Hundreds of surfies young and old, novice and experienced, male and female, short hair and long hair, dreadlocks and shaved heads, wetsuits and board shorts..........an vast array of people that shattered the usual surfie sterotype.  I tried to get some close-up action shots and though I managed one or two semi-decent shots it seemed that I spent as much time waiting for a surfer to find a wave and they spent waiting for the perfect wave........and there was a lot of waiting!  I overheard a couple talking as they walked back to the carpark later - I don't think the conditions had quite met their expectations today.  Still, a great spot and it was lovely to spend the time on a sunny beach.

Have driven tonight down to Awakino - as far north from New Plymouth along the coast road as you can go before you have to turn inland.  I have a plan for a photo tomorrow in Taranaki.  Not sure if it will work - or if I can work it - but it's going to be fun trying!

Nighty-night!
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.