THE CITY PARROT

I had already reached the pond when I heard loud cries, typically a city parrot I thought. Probably in the hight of a tree, but looking around I saw that this one sat on a low branch, very near the houses.
I pondered for a moment. Before I would walk in that direction, she would have left I assumes. Still I walked over the lightrail rails and the road, not very fast, in the casualist way I could and the bird waited (for me) and I had a chance to find out how in this bad, dark, grey weather I still could take a portrait of this amazing bird.
After that I walked back to the pond and wished that the rain would wait
to pour. It did not and my walk had a sudden ending.
In the morning Mischa and I had gone to her flat and took the plants from her balcony, took the cleaning utensils too and had headed home before the weather turned really bad.
The worst part is over, we said to each other and I made a note to myself that before dinner we would celebrate!
Then we looked what the best place for her bookcase would be, put the shelves in it, cherished the wood with wax and now the books are ready to enter their new home too,.
Piet Hein had gone to the sea, walked the beach and saw heavenly skies appearing. I want to go some day to the beach too, soon perhaps I hope.

My haiku:

Some think you are strange
And you are, as we all are
Despite what we think

And the quote by J.J. Rousseau in The Social Contract:

Our will is always for our own good, but we do not always see what that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.