Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Goal

I was always taking it to the next "0" at a time, until I got to about 147 lbs. (67kg) at the beginning of 2014, eighty-five pounds (30kg) less from my starting point in 2010.  Just one pound at a time, slowly, not by being on a diet, but by carefully following my renal meal plan.

I felt great physically - and emotionally. Then my friends starting telling me I had lost too much weight, that I looked gaunt, not well at all.  So after that monumental achievement, I felt so discouraged, defeated.

Throughout 2014, though sticking to some tenets (Low NA, low phosphorous), I fell off the plan and regained twenty of those pounds (< ten kg) by the time I saw my nephrologist on 29 December.

I saw my dietitian, Guadaloupe, Tuesday and I had re-couped seven (3 kg) of them. She smiled, saying I must have been eating a well-balanced diet in order to have lost that much weight in ten days.  Frankly, I couldn't remember eating.

(I think it was Blipfoto.  I hadn't slept.  I hadn't eaten.  I was depressed.)

We decided that eighty pounds (thirty-six kg) was a noble goal, but once  we got close to that we should have worked on maintaining it.  So the plan is to lose about five more and then attempt to 'hover'.
 
I'll try to feel good about myself there and accept that any less makes me appear unhealthy. It's a trade-off I suppose. So I guess I will settle for a net loss of 77 lbs from my Arizona high* weight.



*I was once so heavy (1990's), I had to estimate how much I weighed because the scale at school only went up to 300 lbs.  It wasn't totally my fault. Some of my psychotropic medications were to blame.  I estimate that when I reach my goal of 155 that my total loss from those horrible days will be (at least)155 lbs. I will have lost an entire me! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.