EVEN ON A RAINY DAY

I close the door behind me and guarded by an umbrella go for my walk.
In the park I met this guy, disguised as a birch trunk.
But no-one, I can tell you, no-one ever can escape my sharp eyes. Especially so if I fear that it can be a hard effort to find a picture suitable for appearing in Blipland.
I had a nice telephone conversation with an old friend, she had send a birthday present and I wanted to thank her. And yesterday I talked on the Phone with another old friend. Both had asked if I still took everyday a photo, they did hardly conceal their unbelief that that could be the matter. What was the matter with me? They asked themself secretely.
No way to explain of course, or even tell them they could have a look at the adventure I experience every day.
On my walk their question did not leave me. Here I walked, in the rain, enjoying every minute of it, looking around, expecting something thrilling to happen. A childish pleasure in seeing a face in a birch suddenly.
Taking a picture from under my umbrella. Being part of nature's wonders.
At the big pond I did not see any of the swans and I continued my walk further, choosing a path that ends at a round Island in a pond.
There I saw a swan pair, to come nearer I had to go around houses and just when I came around, a person heavily wrapped up in raincloths, gave signs that I better stop there. A cygnet was near that person and I realised it was my friend Hetty, who tried to lure the bird away from a certain danger.
I saw that Mylene and her little daughter was with her. Also well wrapped up. When I came nearer they told that the situation with 13 cygnets was grave, already two were injured and had been taken away by the rescue team. It became clear that they had a busy week behind them with trying to seperate certain swan clans. I gave them my oatflakes and took pictures of the scene. Their tough day took an end right then, in this kind of weather it had been a hell of a job.
I still stayed for a while and then returned home. I felt happy and sad, but that is what happens all the time, I guess. Willemien is mad, my friends think, but I know that of course for a long, long time.

My haiku:

Every raindrop has
To fall if they like it or
Not .....Do they?

And the quote by Sanuel Beckett in Waiting for Godot:

We are all born mad. Some remain so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.