Bread of heaven

I devoted a large portion of yesterday to making a leaven-raised loaf, necessarily a slower process than using yeast but the result tastes better and keeps longer. I baked it at a high heat for 30 minutes and lowered it for the last fifteen...

3 hours later I wondered where I'd put the loaf when I took it out of the oven - yes, that's right, I'd got engrossed in something and never went back. Result: a dark brown bread-shaped stone.
This morning, after soaking, it became a treat for the chickens. They thought it was manna from heaven.

So it's the moment for Cwm Rhondda, the famous Welsh hymn that is known as 'Guide Me Oh Thy Great Redeemer' in English and also as 'Bread of Heaven' although in the original the nourishment requested is manna: Rho i mi fanna, Rho i mi fanna
The tune is one that has become associated with all patriotic occasions in Wales especially rugby matches and it's guaranteed to send a shiver down the spine of every Taff.
However here it's sung by a Welsh choir in Pennsylvania which has a large population with Welsh ancestry. (It's a little token of respect for Guinea Pig Zero in Philadelphia who has just reached his quincentenary blip.)

Oh, and the hen in the foreground does have a head (I think), please don't worry about her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.