Texann Times

By Texann

Family, friends and food

(Back Blip)

Had a short walk along the river path after breakfast this morning - couldn't go too far unfortunately as it was very muddy and I want to keep my warm boots clean for our whole stay as I'm not sure any of my other footwear will be warm enough. 

On the path just outside the hotel, we saw a group of kids walking back, presumably to Staines Boat Club, carrying their oars.  Leejohnaire (and later, I) lived in Staines for many years, so this was a nice nostalgic image for us.  L was saying that the officials are calling it Staines on Thames nowadays - much more upmarket since we left clearly!  I do wonder how many of the locals have gone along with it.

L's mum and dad joined us at the hotel for lunch and a catch up.  Later we got together with a large group of old friends for a curry.  We're not in constant contact with all of them and yet, whenever we get together, it's as though we've not been apart.  That's always such a nice feeling. 

If we carry on eating like this, I'm not sure the plane will be able to carry both of us back!

Thank you for your comments and stars on my blips while we're travelling.  I'm sorry I've not been able to acknowledge each of them, but please know they're greatly appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.