Hey Crow!

Arvin and I love corvids, crows included. In fact crows and ravens are his favorites. We have been feeding Steller's Jays for years but just recently got some crows interested. We toss peanuts into the alley below our house and I yell, "Hey Crow!" Now they know what that means and come flying. It has taken them quite awhile to come up on the deck railing and take some food. They eat dry dog food and seem to enjoy it. They prefer this brand. I tried cheaper and nobody would eat it. ;-)

Today was a first. The crows have been really shy and never approached when they saw us in the window. But today was different. I was standing on the deck with my camera, telephoto aimed at the railing, taking photos of the jays who were eating peanuts, when this fellow swooped in for some dog food. He (or she) came in twice while I stood on the deck. I was thrilled. He is such a handsome fellow. So here is my first portrait of a crow gathering food on our railing. Take a look at the large version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.