Skip's Blips

By Skip

Hi folks! You can call me "Snowy."

Take a look at my coal black eyes, which is why little grey and white birds like me are called dark-eyed juncos. Our favorite foods are sunflower seeds and white millet, and we really appreciate humans like Skip who throw the seed on the ground or in tray feeders because that's where we like to eat. We're mainly  ground hoppers which is what I was doing when Skip took my picture today. When the weather is cold enough to snow, that's when we juncos show up in northeastern Ohio where we will hang out until spring finally arrives, and it's time to head north across Lake Erie to our summer home in Canada. That's why some people call us "snowbirds." 

That's it for today. Hope you enjoyed my little lecture on ornithology. I have to go now because I've got more important things to do...like searching for more seeds, and Skip is still working on the Lightroom project she told you about yesterday. Busy days around here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.