Marmalade In Progress

This marmalade-making lark is nothing if not time-consuming, turning the bitter fruit into an edible feast. I began just after breakfast and have laboured throughout the day.

 It might have taken a little less time had the safety valve on the pressure cooker not fallen into the cooker when the contents were boiling - fortunately it was replaced after a little adjustment from Mr Flum's trusty Swiss Army knife but I then had to guess the remaining cooking time. And the other pressure cooker, my mother's old one, does not have adjustable weights, so I was guessing the time for the second batch too. Here is one batch, cooling and ready for cutting, which I always do by hand.

At last, around teatime, I had sixteen pounds and a cereal bowlful of delicious golden preserve. With the remainder of last year's (and the year before) I think we can safely say we're well stocked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.