The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Don't fear the reamer

...even if it's made of beechwood and looks pretty damn sharp!
This was one of my recent kitchen purchases online. It arrived today, and as I had nothing else to blip, it fell to this wooden implement to become my focus. I've never had a reamer before, but it may save time in those annoying recipes that call for a small amount of citrus juice.

The song title is for my sister, TMLHereandThere. She had a brief Blue Oyster Cult phase. I once saw three reaper men with scythes over their shoulders cross the road in Zlin (Czech republic) and stand in line for the trolleybus. That was a real wish-I-had-a-camera moment.

We made ice cream in my nursery today, using my ice cream maker. The children liked it, though it was way too sweet for me! One of my key children, who has been away for a while, came back today, and it was a joy to see and play with him again. We had a Thomas the tank engine cake for his birthday, which will be tomorrow.

After nursery and the toddler session, we had IT training. Thank goodness we had cancelled climbing, as I've got a chocolate 'hangover' from yesterday, when I suddenly had to submit a third poem for an anthology, within the hour. I sent it off this morning, and it's been accepted. So that will be the third in the same slim volume. Don't think that has ever happened before. Desperate times, eh? Perhaps there are no other contributors.

The first was based on one interpretation of Brokeback Mountain;
The second on a hybrid of every dance musical I've ever seen, but I imagined viewing it outdoors, at the end of Oban Pier in a gale ( keen observers may point out that there isn't actually pier in Oban);
The third on a particular point of view in My Beautiful Laundrette.

It's been a blast. The final film I ordered (so I'm £20 out of pocket already) was the 1985 Oscar-nominated hispanic film, El Norte, concerning the familiar themes of immigration and emigration; family loyalty and integration. This one hasn't arrived yet, so maybe I'll watch it at the weekend without making notes furiously.

I pulled the plug on climbing, on account of the headache. Tomorrow sees me at college at 9am for a daft maths and English assessment, and then at the dentist in Cheltenham! Fortunately I've arranged to meet a friend afterwards, to recuperate over coffee and cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.