Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Dead Nettle Flowers

I first joined Blip on Tuesday 24 May, but because it is a leap year today is my 365th blip. At that time I was studying the Open University module T189 and a fellow student and blipper, Painting with Light pointed me here.

At first I was going to blip my garden every day and although I currently have two series going of views of the garden, on a day-to-day basis the garden does not change much, so over the year it has evolved into more of a photographic journal although it does not always portray my day.

What does my journal consist off? When asked the question, my husband declared that it was flowers and bugs. I did some analysis and much to my surprise I found that, as usual he is right, over twenty-five percent of my journal consists of flowers and if you add to that, the ones of berries, seeds, leaves, fungi and other plants it amounts to thirty-three percent. Bugs, ladybirds and insects come a poor second having been blipped only just over ten percent of the time. The 'other' categories, which each make up about seven percent of the journal are birds, family, food, general garden views and places I have visited throughout the year. I was surprised to find that cats featured less than four percent of the time; but then they are contrary animals.

I was going to try to find a ladybird for today; there was one despite it being cold and foggy this morning. However, as my journal is predominantly flowers and plants I decided to stay true to form, so here is a white dead nettle flower. If you look large you can see all the little hairs on each petal. Other photographs which were contenders for today can be seen on Flickr.

I have had many hearts, stars and comments over the year and so far 43168 views of my blips, which I find amazing. I have also had twelve spotlight appearances, something I still get very excited about. So many thanks to those of you who visit and comment regularly as well as those who just look or comment now and again; all are much appreciated. Many thanks also to everyone at Blip Central for such an amazing site.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.