Northern Exposure

By Northern

Detour

Took advantage of the lovely evening to head out on my bike for an hour or so. Had planned to cycle further but there was an irritating wind blowing on South Ronaldsay which I just couldn't be bothered to fight my way through. So I cut the route short and headed homeward.

For some odd reason the wind wasn't so strong as I got back towards Burray so I decided to stop off at the beach at the 4th barrier and had a ten minutes or so wandering. Lots of wooly bear caterpillars about, a sure sign of Summer being not far away, and plenty of birds too. So I was making sure to watch where I put my feet and wheels in case I upset any birds nesting in the grass.

Highlight of the evening was watching a duel between a tern and an arctic skua. Amazing display of flight skills and the bravery of the little tern as it faced off the arctic skua. Although, come to think of it, is bravery right word for such bad tempered and aggressive birds as terns?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.