Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The Old alleys of St Peter Port #16

Today the sun shines and I very nearly chose a colour photograph of this area but I was quite surprised that these railing looked so well when taken with my wide angle lens that I just had to use this shot. Well I may never be able to get it right again...

This is right at the top of Cornet Street which is traditionally where the brothels were in the old days. If you carry on up the road you come to Hauteville (High Town) which was much posher and is where Victor Hugo lived when he was in exile in Guernsey. He may have lived in the posh area away from the brothels but his mistress  (Juliette Drouet, read about her here) lived just a few doors away from him; so maybe he simply didn't need the brothels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.