Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Wallace's Art House

Wallace kindly invited me to view the exhibition which he is hosting in his home and guest house, Wallace's Art House.

I've been lurking, commenting on great photographs he's been taking and adding to Facebook and blipfoto, without actually going to visit him recently. So after a ticking off via FB, I headed to see the exhibition today. The photographer Gianluca Maver has developed striking images of cobwebs in one series on display. Wallace sees the intricacy and beauty in art work such as this. I wondered how it had been achieved and how it had been printed - I think I maybe asked the wrong question, but Wallace forgives me because he's very tolerant of lesser mortals like me who don't have the designer's eye which he possesses.

I asked him if he'd stand for a portrait, and then rather rushed the taking of the pictures - nervous maybe - but liked this one of him at a jaunty angle showing me the intricate detail of a series where the artist had woven cobwebs into a series of shapes resonant of hands on a clock, or geometric divisions of a circle.

In other news today, I had my radio debut talking about cakes. A very minor role in a programme in support of fellow Edinburgh Cake Lady, Lea Harris, who makes the most amazing scones you've ever tasted; as well as a juicy carrot cake. You can download the podcast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.