Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Pamper Day

I had a lovely day today! A great day of being pampered. I needed a haircut so I decided to have it washed and blow-dried as well. Harvey's have been doing my hair for many years now and have seen me through several styles.

As soon as I came out of the hairdresser's I headed to the Icon Spa at Rheged in order to have a make-up demonstration. I had to cancel my last appointment when mum died so, once again, planned a visit the same day as the hair-do.

Now, I have never worn much make-up throughout my life. Mascara, a must if I'm leaving the house and silver-grey eye shadow in the same shade I bought at college 45 years ago. Oh, and when I met Annie, I think I wore eye-liner. Suffice it to say, cosmetic firms have not made their millions from me. I was ready to have a change, my ex-employee would be proud of me. Look! I have eye-brows, blusher and lipstick!

I was also looking forward to having some me-time at the studio, too. The lady who did my make-up wanted a photo of the result so I've chosen this as one of the ones I will send her.

At each stage of the day I kept saying "Mum would have loved seeing me doing this!" She was always one for her make-up, I have childhood memories of watching her apply it, didn't feel dressed unless she had her "face" on, and she went to the hairdressers regularly. The thing she didn't like was having her photo taken but would have been eager to have a copy of this one. These thoughts have added to my joy, not caused me sadness.

Big thanks to Julie, Marie and Richard today. I've had a great time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.