I CYCLED

and with this hot weather and a slight wind blowing it is better than walking.
I cycled to Beverungen to buy a small tin of paint for the last touch in the kitchen.
Done already!!
In the morning I took the path on our side of the Weser and on my way back the other side. I remembered so clearly the first time I did this, but then walking.
I had thought I keep to the river how difficult can that be, I had no map, just pleasure to discover where I was. I lost my way because of the detour I had to make around the nuclear plant (not working) and choose just a walk through a field and then through a little forest and suddenly I was confronted with the view of the river that was so different from what I expected and a hill very steep and dark at the other side of the Weser, that I for some minutes thought I had landed in another country. It looked like the Ardennes in Belgium in some way. Where was east or west and how to proceed?
Later I compared it to a feeling described by Kafka, where a person awakes and finds out that he has changed into an animal. It certainly it was not as bad as that, but almost.
Happily enough my frightened feeling disappeared and I could decide what the right direction had to be and it was. That view, however, I can remember vividly forever.

My haiku:

Change into a bird
How would I feel, sing my song
Be proud of my feathers

And the french proverb:

The stream is always pure at its source.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.