Picnic

OMG - the sun has finally hit us and how blissful it is! The school history book has been printed (maybe a blip tomorrow) and I headed off to Bantry to collect it before going to school for the afternoon. I enjoyed an illicit and delicious picnic here - where I perused the book, before anyone else could, and ate a salad. The book looks great, thanks to himself, and so far nothing awful has leapt off the page. Phew.

I had smallest boy this afternoon and talk about out of the mouth's of babes. I was playing an energetic game of tennis with him (muscle strengthening exercise) thinking I looked fit and lithe when he asks:
How old are you?
Me: 22
Him: My mum's 40
Pause
Him: You look old
Me: Errr
Another pause
Him: why does skin go all creased?
Me: errr
A further pause
Him: and you're sunburnt
Me: No, I'm red becausee I'm having to work so hard at playing tennis
Him: No, you were red last week as well

Track 8: Gimme Shelter by the Stones - the most amazing piece of music ever - the spinge tingling introduction, the politicised lyrics (references to Charles Manson), the end of the Swinging 60s and start of something darker, and just gasp at the beauty of Mick Jagger in his prime. Himself has only ever had one rival! Oof. The Stones, like Greenseelves, have been there for much of my life. I was always a Stones girl not a Beatles fan. I have been propositioned by a youth in an orange frilly shirt whilst listening to Beggar's Banquet for the first time ( I declined, orange was never my favourite colour) and slung across someone's shoulder whilst dancing to Midnight Rambler. I have even seen them live and spent a very long day in a field at Knebworth. The Stones were 3 hours late appearing and by the time they were into their set I had to catch the last train back to Cambridge where my mother was picking me up. Not very rock and roll I admit.
Can that really be all 8 tracks chosen?? I may have to cheat and sneak a couple more in. Book tomorrow.
The Tin Pub, my local, has just opened after the long winter and we are off for a scoop tonight. Apologies in advance for not much commenting but will catch up over the weekend.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.