Lake Tekapo

Here I am in the 'dark sky' area of Lake Tekapo and I had the bright idea of going out to get a starry blip so afterthe sun had gone down I headed out to the lake and the little church on the bank, a classic shot but it's a good 'un. As I got down the road I found myself following a people carrier and as I got closer I saw the car park was full and the church was being lit up by camera flash. I didn't stop, I couldn't get a decent shot under those circumstances and not knowing the area, I can't think of anywhere else east facing with foreground interest. Never mind.

The sky was overcast this morning but it cleared and was soon clear blue and cloudless. We had a nice day just chilling. We took a walk around part of the lake this morning, then got a takeaway coffee and sat in the park with it. 

Tomorrow will be a longish drive up to Kaikoura so we'll try to get an early (for us) start for that. This is one of the pics I took this morning. It shows the beautiful blue of the lake quite well. It's caused by 'rock flour' I believe,  very fine particles ground down by the glaciers that feed into it.

Thank you very much for the comments, stars and hearts on my boulders yesterday. It's been up on page 2 of the Populars all day and sdg92 let me know that my boathouse was used on the blip Facebook page too. That's good.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.