Part of your 5-a-day

I spent the morning planting onions, three to four hundred of them... which is about what you get when you buy one hundred plug plants... but it does mean that we should have an onion for every day.

They had to go in the bed that was intended for butterbut squash plants but, since I've only just sown the seeds in covered pots (to foil the mice) and the onions needed to go in yesterday, it was no contest. In fact I'd walked to the Mas early yesterday to see to the onions, but found that our neighbour was busy spraying his almond trees with something right next to our field. He wasn't wearing a face mask so it can't have been anything really noxious, but he'd definitely emptied bottles of something into his cube of water and I wasn't taking any chances.

I also planted a dozen or so pepper plants, the long, thin green variety which always do well, but shan't bother with bell peppers at all as they don't!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.