Larry hug

Please view *large* for a hug too.

I bring you all the saddest, shattering news. My beautiful mum, who fought so long & hard to stay with my Dad & I, passed away on the evening of the Wednesday 23rd May at 11:35pm, after a week long battle... in fact almost a year long battle of a soul destroying illness. My dad & I were with her when she look her last breath, at the North Devon Hospice, in a beautiful room, she was so peaceful when she went, heavily sedated, pain free from the morphine pumping gradually through her veins.

Last November she was diagnosed with lung cancer. Her broken bone in her neck was the cause of a secondary cancer - bone cancer. It came totally out of the blue. Least they were able to repair the broken bone, but even so, she was in so much pain for the rest of the time. She did come up, she had a good month of life, of buying dresses, of exhausting myself & my Dad going to every clothes shop she could find in every local town & of course Exeter too. But then she went down again. And of course wasn't prepared to go so quickly, she wasn't ready, but then, when is anyone ready?

The mornings are the most difficult. The evenings are not so wonderful either. I've been sitting shedding tears on her favourite bench in the garden at the end, in the orchard. I can feel her everywhere, she's by my side all the time, she's sitting next to me holding my hand, she's most probably standing behind me watching & reading the words that I am typing.

Little Larry needed to be blipped for today - I think he must have been holding his wing out to hug me... I'm soppy when it comes to things like this. She loved Larry, she loved that I loved Larry & Larry & she are pure love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.