Wait for me-eee!

I was spoilt for blip-choice today - it could have been a very handsome eider duck (male), a lovely Mrs Eider basking in the sun with two fluffy eider-lings or a couple of fat Nazis unfurling their banners at the end of Regent Rd. (The latter spotted from the bus on my way to yoga). I had to get back to Leith asap though, as Sue was visiting us for the afternoon, on her way (sort of) from the Lake District to St Abbs. I had been thinking it must be about five years since we met in person, turns out it's probably more like eight. We had a lovely afternoon sitting outside the Roseleaf, eating, drinking and blethering in the dazzling sunlight.

We saw these guys from the Coburg St bridge. They were swimming downstream and the mother was moving quite fast without looking back. Every so often the ducklings would realise she was getting away from them and put on a frantic spurt of activity; it wasn't until I downloaded the photo that I realised that they were actually walking on water! It's not terribly sharp, but if you look large you may be able to see the action from nos 3 and 4 out of the nine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.