hungry/foolish

By sbreingan

Half Marathon

Thank you to those blippers that stopped by yesterday to wish me luck :-)

So I only decided to enter this half marathon 7 weeks ago when a friend asked me to on a whim. This is my first proper race, only ever run a few 10k runs around the Water of Leith before. And certainly not in any kind of heat!
Pretty glad that it started at 8am though as it was nice and cool. The first 4 or 5 miles were easy and downhill. Started to heat up as we made it out to portobello and musselburgh. About 11 miles in my legs did not want to keep going. And there is NEVERENDING stretch out to Prestonpans that keeps going and going and going.
Still made it in about 2h06 which is around where I was aiming to be.


I have serious respect for those guys doing the full marathon today. I could not cope. And the weather looked brutal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.