Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Orange tip female

To be honest, with all this fantastic weather, I was expecting a lot more photographic action, but yet again today, I found it very hard work to find anything at all. I must have walked about four miles, around the woods, through nettle glades, along trails, across fields and along ditches and other than a few fly shots, came up with nothing.

I was basically rescued by this little beauty and it completes the pair after my previous blip of the male back on the 15th May.

Today's Indonesian difference discussion is bed time. Pretty much, the vast majority of the population of Indonesia is in bed by ten o'clock at the latest. No staying up to watch the football or the late film, no midnight snacks or playing hold'em until the wee hours. The taxi ride to the pub at 9pm could take 45 minutes, but after 10pm the ride is 15 minutes or a bit less even.

The bars all open up to 2am, but I used to have regular lock-ins, playing pool with the landlord and the police chief way past the wee hours! It was quite a shock leaving the bar at 6am to discover that the new day had begun with a vengeance and the streets already jammed with heavy traffic. Everyone rises at the crack of dawn, which is about 04:30am.

No problem getting a taxi though as my regular taxi, Wawan, would be asleep in his cab outside, patiently waiting for me. That is his choice, not my request. He plays a reasonable game of pool too!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.