Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Crab

Since my childhood, I have always had a fascination for the humble crab. I spent many hours pulling up crabs with a line at the harbor front in Barmouth, North Wales, while on my holidays. Later in life, I was able to use these skills to show my sons the unique pleasure of crab fishing, always taking plenty of extra lines to give to other kids who wanted a go.

It was a mild surprise to find crabs in the paddy fields at an elevation of 1000m, but of course there are fresh water crabs too. I have tried to photograph them before, but they are so difficult to portray on an image, with lots of DOF problems, not to mention that they keep moving.

When I pulled up the pixels, I was mildly surprised to find compound eyes. I hadn't really thought about it before, but assumed that crabs had simple eyes. It was tempting to give you the eye close-up, but I elected to go with the whole and save the eye shot for next time.

Still working on an ID, but the computer connection is very slow today.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.