at the opera

I must confess that when I first saw the Sydney Opera House last night, I was a little ….. underwhelmed.  Perhaps I was tired from the travelling, or maybe it was because every image I’ve seen has been with fireworks, flashy lighting …. wow type pictures.  What I saw was a beige and cream blob - or perhaps, meringue.

But this morning, up close and personal, it’s a different story. I can see what all the fuss is about.  We are so pleased to be here even though it’s crowded and we continually risk serious injury from selfie sticks.  

Next door is the Botanical Gardens and we wander through an astonishing variety of plants and trees - avoiding lunchtime joggers and runners.  Serious runners; like they’re in a really big hurry.  There’s a lot of sweat and testosterone flying about.  We head for the calm and the safety of the Museum of Contemporary Art.

We’re really liking the Youth Hostel.  The room is simple and functional - it wouldn’t look out of place in an Ikea catalogue.  The ensuite has a hairdryer (hair care matters a lot to Anniemay). 

Breakfast - fruit salad, muesli, yoghurt and coffee - is $7 (about £3.60).  And tonight - being tuesday - is Burger Night.  For the sum of just $7 we can have a communal supper.  (I do wonder if their cash register only has the number ‘7’ because it seems to crop up a lot).

I’m surprised when she suggests we think about using hostels in Europe rather than hotels; “I feel as if I’ve come back to my roots”.  I know what she means; it’s a bit like how I felt when we were waltzing with Matilda - there’s far more opportunity to connect with other people - chat and such like - than there is in a hotel.  Or perhaps we just like being Youths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.