School day

5years 154days

Katie was rather excited this morning. She couldn't wait to tell her friends she'd been on television yesterday. Also, I was spending the morning in her classroom. I didn't know if she would go all silly, but she did really well. She was a bit shy at first in her phonics group but then got on with it during guided reading. She was then told she could show me round wherever she wanted to go. She took me outside and they did some science, she did some climbing, then took me inside. She got really stuck in to some 3d shape treasure hunting and coordinated her friends in the hunting & gathering, helping them to sort. Apparently she spends a lot of her time teaching her friends. They went for assembly and I got a few minutes for a cup of tea and tour round the school. She helped her friend go through some numbers. I then ended up with 5 kids on and around my knee for a pile of stories.

It was lovely to have the time with her and interesting as it confirmed some of my suspicions about school and changed a few others. I understand some of Katie's issues with school better but also see that for an average child her school is utterly incredible. Just that Katie really is not an average child.

I then had her parents evening meeting. She is doing brilliantly. Her teacher says she'd met all the EYFS targets for the end of the year when she arrived and has massively surpassed a lot of them. Her literacy is off the charts. She's ahead in maths but in no way comparable to her literacy. For that, she's finished y1 work and is being put onto low y3, where her writing is already. Her teacher showed me ways she has really started to showcase herself, in "flourishes" of self-initiated awesomeness. She had one of her flourishes while I was in the meeting- she'd done a fantastic piece of writing about my visit.

When I picked her up, she was chuffed to tell me that her teacher had shown her class the video of her dancing on television.

Granny and grandad came for tea. She was super excited to show them her keyboard and recorder! She's still loving practising lots! I hope it continues!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.