The price

Having smugly decided to abandon the car and cycle all the way home rather than face the queues on the Forth bridge, I was feeling pretty smug as I rode past the queue of traffic that was backed up all the way through South Queensferry and Dalmeny. Smugly, I decided to take a smug little detour to go round the roundabout, partly so that I could have a smug, self-satisfied ride past more queues of traffic, and partly to pause at the roundabout and look smugly back along the queues of traffic waiting to join the queues already on the bridge. But that meant I joined the bridge on the wrong side so I had to put my smugness away for a minute, get off the bike, go through the underpass and cross on the other side. That reduced the impact of my smug, smiling, 15mph cycling past the stationary northbound cars but I smiled anyway.

I found out later that people in the cars were getting very annoyed at the smug tweeting that was going on by people who'd saw the warnings and done something else to avoid the tailbacks. So I added my own smug tweet to it.

Just as well I didn't need the patches, spare tube and tools that I'd left on my other bike. That would have wiped the smile off my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.