Interesting!

The vernier gauge - my Dad bequeathed me so many fine things. Knew I'd bliddy wake up still annoyed with my heat sensor, so shoved it and the vernier in my stylish manbag before clip clopping off to work. Now I'm more puzzled - the damn thing has exactly the same outside thread diameter. Different pitch? I'll need stronger reading glasses for that. I'll keep you posted, ha.

I've started reading this book by some geezer who sailed solo around Scotland (I know, I know, there's a bit he couldn't sail over so he biked it). Actually there's plenty of interesting (OK, useful) stuff in there, though he's one those competitive berk types. I've been enjoying it despite the occasional descent into delusional corporate wonk speak.

Sea Regulations (COLREGS) state that at all times a watch must be kept for other shipping and hazards. Clearly you can't do that single handed when you're sailing for days. A problem, eh? "That indicated a risk that had to be mitigated through a robust management plan."

Well, I could swallow that, but when he told how his pal David had moved up from a 25' boat to a 41' foot and then a brand new 50' boat by being, "a highly gifted fund manager," I did consider whether a vernier gauge is really what I need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.