Shoeless...but still smiling!

This is one of the reasons why we love our sport!  

It was the third day of competition today at Bigland, the second of the traditional terrain orienteering races which are added together to give an overall position.  I came 34th in today's race and finished in 28th place overall out of 78 so well pleased with that!  The area was challenging physically and technically as yesterday so I ran my own race and kept my compass close.  Tony also got to take part today and took it relatively easy.  Unsurprisingly he felt weary in the last third of his course.

After my run I took out the camera and captured over a thousand photos of the action as orienteers came across the final bit of open area from the forest towards the finish.  This is Dafydd, one of the Welsh juniors.  His shoe came off in the marsh but he wasn't going to let it stop him trying to get the fastest sprint time from the penultimate control into the finish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.