Purplepants

By Purplepants

Systems failure - good day anyway!

I started and ended my day staring at this on the computer screen.
Let me explain.
This was the day to meet son No 1 in London for a day out on him (late birthday& mother’s day)
I started checking train times/routes for London. I then checked out what was ‘on’ in London and sent an e-mail to eldest son to say what I would be on my wish list to do including that I had booked tea for three in the Criterion for 4pm, and that I would text when I was on a train and where it was coming in as there were re-routed trains from Charring X to Victoria…
Fun starts here
1.    I got to the station to find a bus link to Strood due to works on the line. Got on the said bus and purchased a Travel Card at Strood station for my trip and tubes etc in London.
2.    I was pointed out my train by seven Hi-Vis clad Station staff (it’s only a small station!). It turned out to be the high speed one to St Pancras – so I thought no probs, can tube around when I get there.
3.    Train started – BUM – I have left my mobile phone at home charging… How to tell son which train I am on or where to meet me?
4.    Asked V. nice young bloke opposite if I could pay him to make a call – explaining my need. He was lovely and said no prob, and no need to pay. No one at home answered the phone…probably gone out by now and I don’t know anyone’s mobile number except my own – because they are on my phone…. idea! – go into my Hotmail and send son an e-mail as the addresses would be there.
5.    Did that. Told son to meet me on the steps of St Martins in the Field. That I would wait there for him.
6.    Thanked nice bloke profusely
7.      At the station Travel Card refused to go through the turnstile and I was marshalled to a paying desk and told I had to pay extra for using the high speed train. My protest involved item 2. above - as they had looked at my ticket and showed me on to the train… I was let through.
8.      I waited just over an hour on the steps finding out whilst I was sitting there that my Lumix battery was totally flat so I could not take pictures, although I did get to watch the entirety of the Passion Play being performed in the square.
9.     Son arrived!
10.   We repaired to pub, his partner met us and we all went to tea as planned.
11.   A good while later having mostly eaten and drunk a lot I took the same train back because, having tried Victoria – where there were added cancellations to a journey that was going to have two train changes in it… we protested!
The staff were sympathetic.
12.   At Strood I was told that there was a 15 min wait for the bus so I walked – and arrived home in 20 mins.
It was a really good walk across the bridge and past the cathedral and castle in the dark as there was a fog which would have made amazing atmospheric photos.  
I then went back to the computer before I went to bed, hence the above boring blip after all the lost opportunities…
 
I shall henceforward check all my equipment an hour before I leave! THEN PACK IT!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.