To Shave ... or not to Shave?

That is the question!

When I was with my brother a few weeks back he mentioned that he thought my legs had changed shape since he'd last seen me. It hadn't actually occurred to me before but I guess he's right. Over the last five years my physique has changed from that of a runner to that of a cyclist. I doubt I will ever have the spectacular muscle definition of the pure cyclist but I think these are now definitely cycling legs, not least because of the giveaway tan lines. Not the coolest look perhaps, but it kind of goes with the territory.

What is also not so cool, in cycling circles, are the leg hairs! To be a proper cyclist I really have to shave my legs. Turning up to a cycle race with hairy legs is a little akin to turning up at a wedding in shorts and a T-shirt - something indeed that I have done before now. Actually, I got married myself in pair of shorts and a T-shirt (with slogan Life is a Mountain not a Beach) because it's important to feel comfortable at your marriage ceremony! It was a little impromptu ... but that's a whole other story.

So, to return the legs, I have to decide whether to shave or not. There are practical benefits in terms of it being easier to clean wounds and apply a dressing when you come off and pick up road rash, and also in terms of making the legs easier to massage after a long day of climbing in the mountains. There is also the obvious aerodynamic advantage, but I'm not convinced that applies at the speed I travel at these days. Mostly, though, it gains me entry into this exclusive club of 'real' cyclists. It's a bit like joining the Freemasons: instead of partaking in a secret handshake, cyclists just hitch up their trousers to reveal a shaved and sculpted calf! You become a member of an exclusive club.

And that actually is the problem for me. I'm not naturally a clubby person. I have this almost knee-jerk reaction against fitting in and being like other people. I've always been a bit of a rebel in that respect, always preferring to go in the opposite direction to everyone else. So, despite the benefits, and looking really cool on the bike, I think I'm swayed towards remaining hairy and uncool. And this has nothing to do with the process of removing that hair, which surely can't be that bad, can it?

Perhaps I should just shave the one leg, the right, as that is the one, judging by the scar count, that gets by far the biggest bashing. That way I can be half in the club and half my own person. What do you think?

Journal note. I'm having another rest day today. These legs pleaded with me and I listened to them. I took a break at lunchtime and sat in Roberts Park for ten minutes after eventually fixing the problem that plagued me all day yesterday. Trouble is that I still don't understand how it appeared and I have to continue to work on that. Off out for a little local blipmeet now but I won't be able to stay long. I'm hoping to get inspiration from a pint of bitter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.