32

5years 171days 

The first words from Katie's mouth were "Happy Birthday, Mummy!" which she whispered in my ear as she cuddled into my arms. The second were "Happy Birthday, Mummy" in a Monkey-voice, as she bounced Monkey on my head. She then ran downstairs to get my presents she had for me and the couple of cards that had arrived in the post. She'd done such a special job of my presents. I can't believe how thoughtful she had been choosing the card and writing it, and the gorgeous picture & jewellery she'd made. Plus the presents she bought from the shop were adorable. I had a surprise phonecall from my littlest brother, who had just that minute (1am his time) arrived in Chicago, which was fabulous and excited Katie a lot. 

I had to work this morning, and she was a very good girl for me. We then decided to go for a picnic in the sunshine, after we had collected some photos from the printer. The picnic was wonderful, just relaxing and happy. She held my hand most of the way through lunch and insisted I had cupcakes with the relevant birthday numeral sparkler-candles. The cupcakes she chose even had a white rabbit like our Ernie. 

I had a bit of sewing to work on so we went back home before spending a little time with a friend then going for tea with my sister and nieces. Yummy food was eaten - and sent home in a tasty doggy bag. Katie had a really long, happy play with her cousin. She had a fabulous play with their dog too. It was the first time that Katie and Daisy have really played. She's liked the concept of Daisy, but in reality has been quite frightened. But Daisy has calmed a bit recently and they have reached a place where they can have fun!! 

A very tired Katie fought to stay awake all the way home from theirs and fell asleep not long after finishing her milk in bed. A low-key but lovely birthday. Almost entirely made so by my beautiful, thoughtful little lady. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.