David J. Rose

By djrose007

OK, I'm Ready

When I was shopping in a recently opened shop in Gloucester, it's called 'What', I picked up a 5 x 3 feet Union Flag. I thought Marlane would tell me 'Your'e not flying that huge thing outside our house' as she is very conservative when it comes to things like that.
To my surprise, although she does think I totally bonkers, she likedit and even gave me some good suggestions about where to put it - let me rephrase that - good suggestions on how to erect a flagpole using some lengths of wood in the garage.
She did draw the line at putting the speakers out of the window and playing 'Sunset' in the evening when the flag is struck. Shame really as I have an excellent rendition of it by the Royal Marines Band with 'For those in peril onthe sea' which then flows into 'Sunset'.
I did erect the flagpole and raised the Union Flag, it looks huge but I had another blip that day already.
I then thought 'Wouldn't it be great to do other occassions as well as the upcoming Jubilee weekend'. On ebay I found an RAF Ensign to be flown on the anniversary of the formation of the RAF (01 April 1918), Battle of Britain day etc. and while I was at it I also bought a flag of Malta, because I love the place.
I did toy with the idea of getting all of the Commonwealth flags but even I thought that was going just a tad too far!
Dogs had to get into the shot somehow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.